The Employed Bar Awards 2017 will be judged by:

Jonathan Jones, Treasury Solicitor


Jonathan took up his role as Treasury Solicitor and Permanent Secretary of TSol on 1 March 2014. TSol became the Government Legal Department on 1 April 2015.

His previous roles include:

  • Director General, Home Office Legal Adviser’s Branch, 2012 to 2014
  • Deputy Treasury Solicitor at the Treasury Solicitor’s Department, 2009 to 2012
  • Director General of the Attorney General’s Office, 2004 to 2009
  • Legal Adviser to the Department for Education, 2002 to 2004

He is a barrister and a bencher of Middle Temple, where he is active in training junior members of the Bar.

Andrew Langdon QC, Chairman of the Bar for 2017

Andrew Langdon QC

Andrew was called to the Bar in 1986 and took silk in 2006. He practises from Guildhall Chambers in Bristol, predominantly on the Western Circuit.  He practises in crime, including regulatory crime, and in particular health and safety. He has sat as a Recorder since 2002, and became a Bencher of Middle Temple in 2014. From October 2013 until the end of 2015 he was Leader of the Western Circuit.

Lucinda Orr, Chair of the Employed Barristers’ Committee


Lucinda was elected to the Bar Council in 2008, and subsequently re-elected twice. She is currently the Chair of the Bar Association of Commerce, Finance and Industry. She has been a member of the EBC since January 2009 and also sits on various other Bar Council committees, including the General Management Committee, the International Committee, and the Bar Conference Organising Panel. In her day job, Lucinda is a Senior Associate at the specialist Disputes only firm, Enyo Law LLP.