The winners and finalists for the inaugural Employed Bar Awards are listed below. Congratulations to all!

Employed barrister of the year

  • James Hanlon, IKEA
  • Camilla de Silva, Serious Fraud Office – winner
  • Nigel Povoas, United Nations

Young employed barrister of the year

  • Matthew Johnston, Government Legal Department – winner
  • Michael Fry, DLA Piper
  • Jamie Johnston, Government Legal Department

Employed advocate of the year (sponsored by Gray’s Inn)

  • Matthew Gowen, Birketts LLP – winner
  • Simon Heptonstall, Crown Prosecution Service
  • Philip Bennetts QC, Crown Prosecution Service

Outstanding achievement by a public service barrister

  • Thomas Reveley, Government Legal Department
  • David Browitt, Government Legal Department – winner
  • Dominic Alexander, HMRC

Outstanding achievement by a barrister in a corporate organisation or solicitors’ firm (sponsored by BACFI)

  • Guy Micklewright, Blake Morgan LLP
  • Hannah Laming, Peters & Peters – winner
  • Jamie Hunt, ACCA

Outstanding performance by a HM Forces barrister

  • Commander Carolyn Kenyon, Royal Navy – winner
  • Air Vice Marshal Lindsay Irvine, RAF
  • Major Christopher Storr, Army Legal Services